
 

 

How to Apply for an Arizona 

Fetal Death Certificate 
 

 

Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration Only 

has Fetal Death Certificates for fetal deaths and  

Certificates of  Birth Resulting in Stillbirth that 

occurred in Maricopa County.  If you need a certified 

copy of a Fetal Death Certificate or Certificate of 

Birth Resulting in Stillbirth that occurred in another 

county, you must contact the county in which the 

event occurred or the state vital records office.  

 

 

Eligibility & Requirements 
 

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a 

certified copy of a Fetal Death Certificate or 

Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.  Parents of 

record are excluded from the age requirement. In 

addition, only the parents of a fetus or another person 

authorized by one of the parents may obtain a 

certified copy of a fetal death certificate. 

 

If you are not the parents of the fetus, you must 

provide written authorization from one or both of the 

parents and a valid government issued picture I.D. in 

order to obtain a certified copy of the fetal death 

certificate.  

 

How to apply 
 

1) The fee for a certified copy of a fetal death 

certificate or a certificate of birth resulting in 

stillbirth that occurred within the last 30 days 

in Maricopa County the fee is $20.00 per 

certified copy. 

 

2) In Person – The Office of Vital Registration 

is located at 3221 N 16
th

 St., Ste 101, 

Phoenix, Arizona. The hours of operation are 

from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday - Friday. 

You must bring with you a valid government 

issued picture identification, which includes 

your signature, such as a driver’s license. If 

you are not the parent, you must bring 

written authorization from one or both of the 

parents. 

 

 

3) By Mail – Mail your request with your 

notarized signature or include a copy of your 

valid government issued picture 

identification, with includes your signature 

and payment in the amount $ 20.00 per copy. 

If you are not the parents, you must include 

written authorization from one or both of the 

parents. 

 

 

A complete application, whether applying in person 

or by mail must contain all the following information: 

   

The name of the stillborn if named 

The date of birth resulting in stillbirth 

The place of birth resulting in stillbirth 

 (Hospital or residence & city or town  

& county)                                                                                                                                            

The name of the hospital or facility 

The maiden name of the mother 

The full name of the father 

The number of certified copies being requested 

A complete mailing address indicating where the 

certified copies should be mailed.  

A daytime telephone number where we can reach you 

if there is a problem.  

Your signature (Notarized when applying by mail) 

 

When is a Fetal Death Certificate or 

Certificate Resulting in Stillbirth filed? 

 
A Fetal Death Certificate is filed whenever a fetus 

dies before birth and the fetus is more than 20 weeks 

in gestational age or if the fetus weighs more than 350 

grams.  A Fetal Death Certificate may also be filed , if 

the fetus is less than 350 grams and the parents 

request it.  However the attendant is not obligated to 

certify the certificate if under 20 weeks in gestational 

age or less that 350 grams. 

 

In 2001, the Arizona State Legislature established a 

new certificate entitled  

 

“Certificate of Birth Resulting in  Stillbirth”.   

 

A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth may only 

be filed if over 20 weeks in gestational age. 

 

 

                                                                                                 

ALL DOCUMENTS PROVIDED MUST 

BE ORIGINALS 
 

 

FETAL/STILLBIRTH CERTIFICATE FEE 

$20.00 
CORRECTION FEE 

$30.00 
 

 VALID GOVERNMENT ISSUED PICTURE I.D. 

IS REQUIRED WITH ALL REQUESTS 

 

SEND MAIL REQUESTS TO: 

OFFICE OF VITAL REGISTRATION 

PO BOX 2111 

PHOENIX, AZ 85001



 

 
 

 

 

 

MARICOPA COUNTY 
OFFICE OF VITAL REGISTRATION 

3221 N. 16
th
 ST., #101 

PHOENIX, AZ 85016 
 

8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 

TEL (602) 506-6805 
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