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Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) Rate (Sales Tax)  
     

ARIZONA STATE SALES TAX RATE  MARICOPA COUNTY EXCISE TAX RATE 
     
General Tax 6.0%  Transportation Excise Tax  0.5% 
   Jail Facilities Excise Tax  0.2% 
Education (Prop 301) 0.6%    

Total State Sales Tax 6.6%  Total County Sales Tax 0.7% 
 
 
Additional information regarding TPT rates can be found at the Arizona Department of 
Revenue website: http://www.azdor.gov/Business/TransactionPrivilegeTax/TPTRates.aspx   
 
Effective June 1, 2010 the State of Arizona sales tax rate for retail purchases is 6.6% which 
includes the 1% increase as a result of Proposition 100 as approved by voters on the May 
18, 2010 Special Election. Maricopa County adds on .7% sales tax to support roads and 
jails. In addition, each city may add sales tax. State of Arizona sales tax (6.6%) and 
Maricopa County sales tax (.7%) plus the city sales tax rate equals the amount paid as 
retail sales tax when purchasing merchandise in that city.  
 
Transportation Excise Tax 
The Maricopa County Transportation Excise Tax was extended to 2025 when voters 
approved Proposition 400 in November 2004 to continue the countywide half-cent (0.5%) 
transportation tax. Originally established in 1985 through Proposition 300, the 
transportation tax represents the major funding source for the MAG Regional Transportation 
Plan (RTP). The Transportation Excise Tax is authorized pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute 
42-6105. Additional information regarding RTP can be found at the following location: 
http://www.mag.maricopa.gov/project.cms?item=411  
 
Jail Facilities Excise Tax 
Maricopa County voters approved Proposition 411 in November 2002, which continues the 
existing 1/5 of one-cent (0.2%) Jail Facilities Excise Tax initially established in November 
1998 under the authority of Propositions 400 and 401. The tax will continue for not more 
than twenty years after the date the tax collection begins. The Jail Facilities Excise Tax is 
authorized pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute 42-6109.01.  
 
Stadium District Car Rental Surcharge 
The Maricopa County Stadium District Board of Directors initially levied a car rental 
surcharge at a rate of $1.50 beginning in January 1992 and increased the surcharge to 
$2.50 in January 1993.  Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S.) Title 48, Chapter 26, 
Article 2, §48-4234, the District may set the surcharge at a maximum of $2.50 on each 
lease or rental of a motor vehicle licensed for hire for less than one year and designed to 
carry fewer than 15 passengers, regardless of whether such vehicle is licensed in the State 
of Arizona. The District has pledged a portion of this revenue to repay the bonds issued to 
build the Chase Field Stadium. 


