Maricopa County Maricopa County | Site Map | Search | Phone Directory | Departments | Services
corner image corner image
Maricopa County Public Health logo
A to Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Board of Health

Board of Health


The BOH consists of 11 members appointed by and responsible to the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors for staggered four year terms. Five are appointed by district, one is a supervisor, one is a physician and four are at-large. The Arizona Revised Statues provide for this in Title 36.


The BOH elects a president, vice-president of finance and a Physician Representative. The role of the Director of the health department is to participate and work with the Board but is not considered a member. The director serves as the secretary of the board as a non-voting member. The president is also a member of the finance committee. The executive committee consists of President of Board of Health, Vice-President-Finance, two At-Large members of which one is a physician. The President also may, with the approval of the Board, appoint special committees.


Current BOH members


Dr. Debra Balduff
Current Term: 5/23/13-12/31/16
Member At-Large

Dr. Scott Somers,
Current Term: 1/1/2013-12/31/2016
District 2
Don Cassano - Finance
Current Term: 01/01/10-12/31/2017
District 1
Robert D. MacMillan
Current Term: 3/9/2016–12/31/2016
District 3
Michael R. Mills, MD, MPH, FASGE, FACG, AGAF
Current Term: 5/8/13-12/31/2016
Physician Representative

Francisca Montoya - Finance
Current Term: 1/1/13-12/31/2016
District 5

Nedra Halley - Finance
Current Term: 12/11/13-12/31/2016
Member At-Large
District 4

Andy Kunasek
Supervisor Representative

Kip D. Steill- Finance
Current Term: 2/20/13-12/31/2016
Member At-Large
Don Hughes - Finance
Current Term: 4/18/2015-12/31/2016
Member At-Large
Vice President
Bob England, MD
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch videos on YouTube Subscribe to our e-mail updates here